Fullscreen
Art May, 29 2012

Coarse ‘The Rise of Pain in Dreams’ Vinyl Figure

Marking the 5th anniversary of their first 1:3 vinyl figure release, coarse presents “the rise of pain in dreams”. Hand sculpted by Mark Landwehr in the distinctive coarse style and first shown in Chicago in 2010, it has taken coarse 2 years to transform the original sculpture into a vinyl piece. A project of passion, pushed to the limit of technical capabilities.

At 27’’ x 14’‘ x 7.4’’ [69 cm x 35.5 cm x 18 cm], the piece is an exceptional large scale vinyl figure, impressive in size and detail – each piece is individually handcrafted. “The damaged being, comes sunken into his mattress, clinging to the last strands of life . Embalmed in bandages, but still the blood seeps out of his mouth and wounds. Fighting inside and out for survival.”

“This lost case comes attached inseparably to his deathbed and with an individually handmade blood puddle. He is secured with foam, slid into a sturdy screen printed cardboard box and closed with a full colour paper sleeve. His casket is lightweight and highly durable for the long journeys ahead.”

Craftsmanship by Coarse is once again very impressive. We cannot think of other vinyl makers today, that work with such detail and at such a high level of quality. Limited to 200 pieces, the figure goes on sale online on June 12th, 2012 at 08:59 am Los Angeles, 11:59 am New York, 05:59 pm Hamburg and 11:59 pm Hong Kong time. The figure will go for HK$ 5880 (758 USD).

Take a further look after the jump.

Comments

Close

Selectism