Where form meets function

The finalists for the 2009 Mies van der Rohe Award have been announced. The award is the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture. Included on the short list is the Norwegian Opera & Ballet, above. Dezeen has a full report on the award finalists.

A brief press release follows.

Five finalists announced for the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award 2009

February 11th 2009. The European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe announced today the finalists for the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award 2009, one of the most important and prestigious prizes for international architecture. By supporting the Prize, the European Commission underlines the role of architecture as a driver for creativity and innovation and draws attention to the important contribution of European professionals in the development of new ideas and technologies.

The finalists are:


Multimodal Centre – Nice Tramway, Nice (France) by Marc Barani / Atelier Marc Barani.


Zenith Music Hall, Strasbourg (France) by Massimiliano Fuksas, Doriana Fuksas / Massimiliano Fuksas Architecture.


University Luigi Bocconi, Milan (Italy) by Shelley McNamara, Yvonne Farrell / Grafton Architects.


The Norwegian Opera & Ballet, Oslo (Norway) by Kjetil Træaedal Thorsen, tarald Lundevall, Craig Dykers / Snøhetta.


Library, Senior Citizens’ Centre and City Block Core Zone, Sant Antoni’s District, Barcelona (Spain) by Rafael Aranda, Carme Pigem, Ramon Vilalta / RCR Aranda Pigem Vilalta Arquitectes.

CEO & Publisher

I am the founder of I started the blog right out of college in 2005 and I am still as passionate and involved as I was on the first day. While I do not write as much anymore, you will still find the occasional article on the site wi...

What To Read Next