Tune in and turn up

MTV has officially unveiled the 2014 Video Music Award nominations. Beyoncé leads the competition with eight nominations, including Video of the Year, Best Female and Best Collaboration, with Eminem and Iggy Azalea right behind with seven noms each. Also receiving multiple nominations are Jay Z, Katy Perry, Miley Cyrus, Pharrell Williams, Ariana Grande, Lorde, Sam Smith, Zedd, Avicii, Pitbull, Jason Derulo and Hayley Williams. Eminem’s up for Best Hip-Hop for “Berzerk” and two for “The Monster” with Rihanna (Best Male and Best Collaboration), while Iggy’s “Fancy” will compete for Video of the Year, Best Female and Best Pop. Meanwhile, Pharrell is the only male act in the Video of the Year category with “Happy.” Both Beyoncé (12 total career wins) and Marshall (11 career wins) could make a run for second most all-time VMA wins, passing Peter Gabriel and Lady Gaga (13) on the way to Madonna (20 career wins). The 2014 MTV Video Music Awards will be held at The Forum in Inglewood, California on August 24 at 9 p.m. EST. For the full list of nominations head over to MTV.

What To Read Next