Tune in and turn up

The xx are very clearly up to something. The past several weeks have seen them launch a new snippet of untitled music to Spotify every couple of days, only to remove it several hours later. This would indicate than an album is imminent and now, thanks to a major leak from music app Shazam, we have some concrete details about the forthcoming record.

Coming from the internet hounds at Reddit (where else?), the album is reportedly called I See You and contains 12 tracks. In the Shazam leak, these songs are listed in alphabetical order which, unless the band pulls the same stunt that Radiohead did with their new album, is not likely the official tracklist. See the song titles below:

“Brave for You”
“I Dare You”
“On Hold”
“Seasons Run”
“Say Something Loving”
“Test Me”
“A Violent Noise”

The upcoming album will be the first release of music from The xx since 2012’s Coexist. That said, both of frontman Jamie xx’s bandmates (Oliver Sim and Romy Madley Croft) appeared on his excellent solo album from last year, In Colour. As of press time, all evidence on Shazam’s website has been removed, but stay tuned to see which official details emerge.

Stream Jamie xx’s album In Colour below via Spotify:

In other music news, Ty Dolla $ign and Future have released a music video for their song “Campaign” in what may be the most timely release of the year. Watch it right here.

Words by Jake Boyer
Music Editor
What To Read Next