Tune in and turn up

May is rolling by and, thankfully, we’ve got some choice cuts to bring us into better weather. Danny Brown has bestowed upon us a new track titled “Kool Aid” which couldn’t get more summery if it tried. Bands like The National, HAIM and Fleet Foxes are set to bring us full lengths this summer, rolling out singles we can’t get enough of. And Amber Mark has delivered a stunning debut that we have been jamming pretty much all day.

Take a listen to all of those and more in our picks for the Best Tracks of the Week below.

Amber Mark — “Regret”

We’re digging the entirety of newcomer Amber Mark’s debut EP 3.33 AM, but the combination of her unique vocals, persistent tablas, trippy samples, and wavering synths on “Regret” make for three minutes and 23 seconds of pop perfection with an understated edge.

Bryson Tiller — “Get Mine” ft. Young Thug

Tiller accurately self-proclaims “Get Mine” as “Soul rhythm blues with a slap to it,” in a track that’s got us excited for his album True To Self next month. With Young Thug continuing his excellent guest verse form with bars such as, “They scoping out my house from a cabin / I pissed out of the window and start laughing,” this is a surefire hit.

Chronixx — “Skankin’ Sweet”

This week, 24-year-old Jamaican singer-songwriter Chronixx announced he was releasing an album titled Chronology. The project is set to release at the end of June, and the artist gave fans a precursor with “Skankin’ Sweet,” which will appear third in the track listing. Carefree yet reflective, the smooth-listening track details the upside of lighting one up when things look dark.

Danny Brown – “Kool Aid”

His first new music since last year’s Atrocity Exhibition, Danny Brown is as rambunctious as ever on his latest track “Kool Aid.” Rapping over a frantic, trappy-beat, leave it to Danny to make mixing flavored powder with water seem like one of the most obscenely badass actions imaginable.

Fleet Foxes — “Fool’s Errand”

As excited as we were for the surprise return of Fleet Foxes, their previously shared single (though good) was frighteningly obtuse; a mammoth ten-minute epic of a track that was among the more opaque efforts in their career. “Fool’s Errand” is a sigh of a relief, ensuring they have lost none of their sensibilities. Frontman Robin Pecknold’s voice in particular is as light as ever, radiating like a beacon of hope in the darkness.

HAIM — “Right Now”

The Haim sisters give us another reason to live with their latest track “Right Now.” Although its opening is quite pared-down, the trio switch gears soon enough with expansive guitar and booming drums. It’s been four years since their last album Days Are Gone, so needless to say this track has us counting down the days until Something To Tell You drops July 7.

J Hus — “Fisherman” ft. Mo Stack, MIST

Three of the best MC’s out of the UK going in over a breezy, piano-led beat is the perfect elixir for a summertime smash hit. That’s exactly what “Fisherman” is. It’s everything that’s so brilliant with UK music at present – blending sounds from different diasporas into J Hus’s own unique and infectious vibe.

KWAYE — “Little Ones”

Kwaye returns to action after his immense breakthrough track “Cool Kids” with “Little Ones.” The ethereal, sun-tinged beat is sent to a different realm as soon as KWAYE’s vocals come in on the track. Reminiscent of George Michael or The Style Council in their prime, KWAYE is bringing back pop sounds from a bygone era with a resoundingly modern twist.

The National — “The System Only Dreams in Total Darkness”

As the lead single from The National’s just-announced seventh album Sleep Well Beast, “The System Only Dreams in Total Darkness” promises a full-length that will be wrought with tension. Built from a few sparse elements hammered in to your brain with ever-building repetition, capped off with a killer guitar solo, it is clear not all is well in the camp of The National. But perhaps they are merely responding to the times more directly than they ever have before.

Perfume Genius — “Die 4 You”

So technically this song came out last week as part of the masterful full-length that is Perfume Genius’ No Shape, but we have needed the time to process just how wonderful this track is (the music video dropped a few days ago didn’t hurt either). Combining ghostly vocals, a precise piano line and guitars that feel remarkably like Purple Rain-era Prince summoned from the grave, this very clearly stands among the best work in the whole of the Perfume Genius catalogue.

In case you missed it, catch up on last week’s best tracks right here.

What To Read Next