blood orange classical album fields announcement
Getty Images / Nicholas Hunt

Dev Hynes a.k.a. Blood Orange is releasing his first classical album. Titled Fields, the collection is entirely composed by Hynes and performed by the Chicago-based ensemble Third Coast Percussion. The album will be out on October 11 via Cedille.

“This was the first time I’ve written music that I’ve never played, and I love that,” Hynes said in a press release. “It’s something I’ve always been striving to get to. Seeing what Third Coast Percussion had done with these pieces was magical.”

This is the artist’s first classical offering. It includes a suite called “For All Its Fury”, which makes up the first 11 tracks of the album, as well as two moving pieces, “Perfectly Voiceless” and “There Was Nothing.” Hynes composed the project entirely in a Digital Audio Workstation, before sharing the recordings and sheet music with the members of Third Coast Percussion who arranged and orchestrated them. Peep the full tracklist below.

Fields tracklist:

1. Reach
2. Blur
3. Coil
4. Wane
5. Curl
6. Hush
7. Gather
8. Tremble
9. Cradle
10. Press
11. Fields
12. Perfectly Voiceless
13. There Was Nothing

Earlier this year Dev Hynes dropped Angel’s Pulse, revisit our full review of the mixtape.

On this week’s episode of The Dropcast, we are joined by jeweler Greg Yuna, where he talks about getting his start working with guys like Floyd Mayweather, and his Instagram, which is an endless flex of fire pendants inspired by everything from KAWS’ Companion, Versace’s medusa head, and Nipsey Hussle. Listen below.