In a recent announcement, Facebook revealed that it will now inform users if their data was unlawfully obtained by political data firm Cambridge Analytica. Those wanting to check if their personal information was wrongfully taken can do so as of today.
The social media app will implement a “Protecting Your Information” link at the top of the Newsfeed. If clicked, users will be directed to a hub page of apps and websites they have used Facebook to log into. As seen below (on the left), users can then remove any third party applications and sites they no longer want to be connected to their account.
For those whose data might have been breached, Facebook will then provide a message, as seen in the photo on the right below.
In addition to this notification, Facebook has provided a new button to update and change your current privacy settings. To date, the social media giant estimates that data from up to 87 million users in the U.S. alone has been improperly shared with Cambridge Analytica.
Now, read Facebook plans to roll out a new feature that allows users to delete messages after being sent.
- Main & Featured Image: Chesnot / Getty Images