Life
Life beyond style

Instagram has published its “Year in Review” data which showcases the platform’s global community of 800 million users focusing on kindness, family and unity in 2017, following many challenges and hardships worldwide encompassing politics, natural disasters and terrorist attacks.

Reflected by the most-liked posts and videos of the year, a few of this year’s top moments included Beyoncé sharing the news of her pregnancy, Cristiano Ronaldo celebrating the birth of his newborn twins and the support Selena Gomez received after her successful kidney transplant.

In addition, this year’s themes of kindness and unity also pulled through in some other top data findings, such as #love being the world’s top Instagram hashtag and the “happiest place on Earth” (Disneyland Anaheim, CA) is the world’s top-geotagged location of 2017.

Check out the full rundown below.

Top hashtags of 2017:
#love
#fashion
#photooftheday
#photography
#art
#beautiful
#travel
#happy
#nature
#picoftheday

Most-followed celebrities of 2017:
Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) – 130M+ Followers
Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) – 116M+ Followers
Ariana Grande (@arianagrande) – 115M+ Followers
Beyoncé (@beyonce) – 108M+ Followers
Kim Kardashian West (@kimkardashian) – 104.9M+ Followers
Taylor Swift (@taylorswift) – 104M+ Followers
Kylie Jenner (@kyliejenner) – 99.5M+ Followers
Dwayne Johnson (@therock) – 96M+ Followers
Justin Bieber (@justinbieber) – 93.9M+ Followers
Kendall Jenner (@kendalljenner) – 84.8M+ Followers

Most-liked photos of 2017:

A Alana Martina acaba de nascer! Tanto a Geo como a Alana estão muito bem! Estamos todos muito felizes! ❤️

A post shared by Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) on

Sir Carter and Rumi 1 month today. ??❤️??????????

A post shared by Beyoncé (@beyonce) on

So happy to be able to hold the two new loves of my life ?❤

A post shared by Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) on

A post shared by Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) on

A post shared by Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) on

Family mood ❤️❤️❤️❤️

A post shared by Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) on

A post shared by Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) on

Most-liked celebrity videos of 2017:

New animal in the building Bugatti Chiron ???✌️?✈️

A post shared by Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) on

?

A post shared by Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) on

Good morning ?

A post shared by Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) on

⚽️?

A post shared by Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) on

?

A post shared by Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) on

Si ella sube yo también .. tirando pasos ???

A post shared by Leo Messi (@leomessi) on

Wolves is out tomorrow morning @marshmellomusic

A post shared by Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) on

???

A post shared by Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) on

Celebrities who gained the most followers in 2017:
Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) – 30M+ New Followers
Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) – 24M+ New Followers
Ariana Grande (@arianagrande) – 22M+ New Followers
Kylie Jenner (@kyliejenner) – 23M+ New Followers
Dwayne Johnson (@therock) – 22M+ New Followers
Leo Messi (@leomessi) – 21M+ New Followers
Neymar Jr (@neymarjr) – 20M+ New Followers
Beyoncé (@beyonce) – 17M+ New Followers
Justin Bieber (@justinbieber) – 16M+ New Followers
Kim Kardashian West (@kimkardashian) – 15M+ New Followers

?

A post shared by Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) on

Hashtags that grew the most in popularity throughout 2017:
#photography
#2017
#travel
#instagood
#art
#instagram
#memes
#travelphotography
#photo
#photographer

Accounts with the Most-viewed Instagram Stories of 2017:
Lele Pons (@lelepons)
Neymar Jr. (@neymarjr)
Olga Igorevna Buzova (@buzova86)
Kim Kardashian West (@kimkardashian)
Amanda Cerny (@amandacerny)
Chiara Ferragni (@chiaraferragni)
Maluma (@maluma)
Anitta (@anitta)
Ariana Grande (@arianagrande)
Kourtney Kardashian (@kourtneykardash)

Tell me something I️ don’t know ❤️?

A post shared by Lele Pons (@lelepons) on

Most-used Instagram Filters of 2017:
Clarendon
Gingham
Juno
Lark
Moon

Most-used Instagram Stories Face Filters:
Puppy
Bunny
Koala
Genius
Love

Most-Instagrammed cities of 2017:
New York, New York
Moscow, Russia
London, United Kingdom
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Paris, France
Los Angeles, California
Saint Petersburg, Russia
Jakarta, Indonesia
Istanbul, Turkey
Barcelona, Spain

Most-Instagrammed locations of 2017:
Disneyland, Anaheim, USA
Times Square, New York City, USA
Central Park, New York City, USA
Tour Eiffel, Paris, France
Tokyo Disney Resort, Tokyo, Japan
Disney’s Magic Kingdom, Orlando, USA
Musée du Louvre, Paris, France
Brooklyn Bridge, Brooklyn, USA
Disney California Adventure Park, Anaheim, USA
Las Vegas Strip, Las Vegas, USA

Most-followed Pets on Instagram in 2017:
Jiffpom (@jiffpom) – Pomeranian, US – 7M Followers
Nala (@nala_cat) – Cat, US – 3.5M Followers
Doug the Pug (@itsdougthepug) – Pug, US – 3M Followers
Shibainu Maru (@marutaro) – Shiba Inu, JP – 2.6M Followers
Grumpy Cat (@realgrumpycat) – Cat, US – 2.4M Followers
Marnie the Dog (@marniethedog) – Shih Tzu, US – 2.1M Followers
Tuna (@tunameltsmyheart) – Chiweenie, US – 1.9M+ Followers
JuniperFoxx (@juniperfoxx) – Fox, US – 1.9M Followers
Lil Bub (@iamlilbub) – Cat, US – 1.6M+ Followers
Loki (@loki_the_wolfdog) – Husky, US – 1.6M Followers

?

A post shared by jiffpom ? (@jiffpom) on

Also, Instagram launched a new “Remix” feature that lets you draw on your friends’ photos.

Words by Renz Ofiaza
Staff Writer

Renz Ofiaza is a Staff Writer at Highsnobiety and based in Brooklyn.

What To Read Next