kindness sampha
Other / Michele Yong

After five years of patiently waiting, Kindness a.k.a. Adam Bainbridge is back with new music. Today, the singer-songwriter premiered “Hard to Believe” with Zane Lowe on World First. The track is a collaboration with Sampha and Jazmine Sullivan and will be featured on Kindness’ forthcoming album titled Something Like A War. The self-produced project also includes guest appearances from Robyn, Seinabo Sey, Alexandria, Bahamadia, and Nadia Nair.

“A little freaked out & overwhelmed to announce my new album ‘Something Like a War’ out September 6th,” Kindness wrote in a post on Instagram. “I’m incredibly proud of this record and literally cannot wait to share it with you, & through my own label! Thank you for waiting for new music.”

During the post-Otherness years, Kindness worked on material for Robyn, Solange, and Blood Orange. Scroll down to view the full tracklist for Something Like A War ahead of its release on September 6 via Female Energy.

1. “Sibambaneni”
2. “Raise Up”
3. “Lost Without” feat. Seinabo Sey
4. “Softness As A Weapon”
5. “Hard To Believe” feat. Jazmine Sullivan
6. “Who You Give Your Heart” To feat. Alexandria
7. “Samthing’s Interlude”
8. “Dreams Fall”
9. “The Warning” feat. Robyn
10. “Cry Everything”
11. “No New Lies” feat. Cosima
12. “Something Like A War” feat. Bahamadia
13. “Call It Down” feat. Cosima & Nadia Nair

Words by Sydney Gore
Features Editor

Softcore tastemaker at your service.