Tom Ford has been elected by The Council of Fashion Designers of America as the next Chairman of the CFDA. The award-winning fashion designer, film director, screenwriter, and film producer will assume the role starting January 1, 2020, which was ratified by the CFDA board of directors at a meeting on Tuesday.

Ford will succeed Diane von Furstenberg, who became chairwoman in 2015, and Ford becomes the 11th person to hold the position. The roster of previous presidents/chairmans has included Stan Herman, Carolyne Roehm, Perry Ellis, Mary McFadden, Bill Blass, Herbert Kasper, Oscar de la Renta, Norman Norell, and Sydney Wragge.

Tom Ford has been a member of the CFDA since 2000 and upon learning of his appointment, the designer said in a statement, "Having lived and worked in each of the global fashion capitals of the world, I look forward to working with the Board of Directors to further the voice of American Fashion and its designers."

He added, "As the Chairman, I look forward to continuing the incredible work Diane has done over the last 13 years. Diane is a true force and her contribution to the CFDA and to American fashion is immeasurable. We all owe her a great deal."

Head on over to the CFDA for the full story.

What To Read Next