Virgil Abloh, Kerby Jean-Raymond, Maria Cornejo, and Carly Cushnie have been appointed as the newest members of the Council of Fashion Designers of America’s (CFDA) Board of Directors. The announcement was made today via the CFDA website, coming courtesy of the council and chairman Tom Ford.

Founded in 1962, the Council of Fashion Designers of America is a not-for-profit trade association consisting of more than 450 American fashion and accessory designers. The mission of the collective is to strengthen the impact of American fashion in the global economy.

Currently there are 19 members of the CFDA's Board of Directors, each of which is granted a six-year term with the possibility of extension. Abloh, Jean-Raymond, Cornejo, and Cushnie join existing members Tracy Reese, Vera Wang, Stan Herman, Stacey Bendet, Dao-Yi Chow, Prabal Gurung, Tommy Hilfiger, Norma Kamali, Michael Kors, Reed Krakoff, Ralph Lauren, Ashley Olsen, Italo Zucchelli, and Diane von Furstenberg on the panel.

In addition to appointing to members, Tom Ford has also created an advisory board with experts in art, entertainment, media, and contemporary culture. John Demsey, Nina Garcia, Bethann Hardison, Bryan Lourd, Elizabeth Saltzman, Virginia Smith, Will Welch, and Daniella Vitale will serve on the Advisory Board to the Chairman of the CFDA.

What To Read Next