Today Netflix gives us a first look at Ava DuVernay's new limited series, When They See Us, detailing the true story of five teenagers of color — referred to as the Central Park Five — who were wrongfully convicted of raping a woman.

Told in four parts, the program centers around the five kids from Harlem — Antron McCray, Kevin Richardson, Yusef Salaam, Raymond Santana and Korey Wise — dating back to the spring of 1989 when they were initially questioned about the incident. From there, When They See Us spans 25 years to their exoneration in 2002 and on to 2014 when they reached a settlement with the city of New York.

In addition to creating the series, Ava DuVernay co-wrote and directed When They See Us, which stars Michael K. Williams, Vera Farmiga, John Leguizamo, Felicity Huffman, Niecy Nash, Blair Underwood, Christopher Jackson, Joshua Jackson, Omar Dorsey, Adepero Oduye, Famke Janssen, Aurora Perrineau, William Sadler, Jharrel Jerome, Jovan Adepo, Aunjanue Ellis, Kylie Bunbury, Marsha Stephanie Blake, Storm Reid, Chris Chalk, Freddy Miyares, Justin Cunningham, Ethan Herisse, Caleel Harris, Marquis Rodriguez and Asante Blackk.

When They See Us comes to Netflix May 31.

What To Read Next