Movies
Next on your watch list

The Cannes Film Festival is not only a highlight in the film world, it’s also famed for being a key date in the sartorial calendar too, where celebrities have always flocked to the French Riviera for the event. Celebrating its 70th year, the festival’s late May date heralds in the official start of summer, with ample sunshine and boat parties amidst the cinematic action.

This year is no different, with even more LA “it girls” walking the red carpet, sparking us to wonder whether one has to be in the film industry at all to be invited to such a prestigious event? Evidently not.

Check out the best looks so far below, and stay tuned as we update through the next nine days of the festival.

Update 5/24

Kristen Stewart has perfected the tomboy-does-red-carpet look.

Yaaaaaassss queen!

A post shared by Kendall (@kendalljenner) on

Nooooooo basic!

Gucci cropping up looking like a dessert again – this time a lemon meringue.

Serious Buffy (the movie) vibes.

Palais premiere @oscardelarenta :) #thesquare #cannes

A post shared by Elisabeth Moss (@elisabethmossofficial) on

The French at it again, this time in Jacquemus.

#Redcarpet #Opening #UCR Barbara by Mathieu AMALRIC #Cannes2017 Jeanne Balibar & Mathieu Amalric © V. Hache / AFP

A post shared by Festival de Cannes (@festivaldecannes) on

Tilda does her best Cannes-water-at-night look.

Matrix meets French Riviera.

A post shared by badgalriri (@badgalriri) on

Now that’s a jumpsuit.

Below notes on Susan still hold.

Thankfully Bella Hadid no longer has to bring her dad as a date.

She's finally here 🌹

A post shared by Bella Hadid (@bellahadid) on

Michelle Williams + Louis Vuitton = can do no wrong.

John Cameron Mitchell shows the men how it’s done.

Salma on that Gucci dessert tip.

#charlottecasiraghi #salmahayek

A post shared by Charlotte Casiraghi Grimaldi (@charlotte.casiraghi) on

More pink dessert.

Diane Kruger cool in dusty pink #Cannes @dianekruger @lachambrepr #autumnwinter2017 #loungesuit

A post shared by Emilia Wickstead (@emiliawickstead) on

“I think the water’s this way.”

Cannes Vice.

Cailin baby 💕

A post shared by ♔Winnie Harlow♔ (@winnieharlow) on

So long, farewell.

Later Cannes 👋🏽

A post shared by Emily Ratajkowski (@emrata) on

Bella Hadid appropriated Titanic’s Heart of the Ocean for 2017.

Chinese pop star Chris Lee took an unorthodox approach to the red carpet in Margiela.

Lily Rose Depp, in Chanel, accompanied Iranian director Asghar Farhadi, who looked dapper in Brioni.

Naomie Harris dressed as a yummy Gucci popsicle.

The French really are more chic.

At 70, Susan Sarandon proves she wrote the book on sexy.

“No, you look good!”

Emily Ratajkowski eagerly slipped her heels off post-red carpet.

After the red carpet, stranded on a dock, watching the sunset barefoot ❤️ #Cannes

A post shared by Emily Ratajkowski (@emrata) on

Elle Fanning heard they’re auditioning for Batgirl.

The Grace Kelly bat comes out at night 🦇🦇🦇🦇 @philosphyofficial

A post shared by Elle Fanning (@ellefanning) on

Hailey Baldwin, Bella Hadid and Emrata pose at Coachella, I mean Cannes.

Couple ladies on a boat 🤤💓🌸

A post shared by Bella Hadid (@bellahadid) on

Marion Cotillard keeps it casual in Y/Project.

Evidently Chris Lee has two statement suits in her arsenal.

White linen got us all hot and bothered.

In case you missed it, here are 35 movie star Instagrams you should be following.

Related Shopping Tips

What To Read Next