We're counting down the days until January 20. Why? It's when the USA finally gets a new president. And for the inauguration, President-elect Joe Biden has delivered a victorious playlist featuring the likes of Kendrick Lamar, Mac Miller, SZA, and the late MF DOOM.

Yesterday, the inauguration team for president-elect Biden and VP-to-be Kamala Harris released an official inaugural playlist, with 46 songs – to represent the incoming 46th president. As you might expect, it's in the same eclectic, hopeful vein of Biden's presidential campaign, with genre-crossing tracks ranging from Steely Dan’s golden oldies ("Do It Again") to MF DOOM's "Coffin Nails."

It's the aspirational R&B/hip-hop end of things where things get interesting. Biden's inauguration playlist packs absolute bangers such as Mary J. Blige’s "Now Or Never," Mac Miller’s "Blue World," A Tribe Called Quest’s "Award Tour," N.E.R.D’s "Run to the Sun," KAYTRANADA’s "What You Need," The Internet’s "Come Together," SZA’s "Good Days," Beyoncé’s "FIND YOUR WAY BACK," and Burna Boy’s "Destiny."

Who knew Biden had such good taste in music? Well, the 78-year-old probably doesn't listen to Burna Boy in his free time. We have D-Nice and Issa Rae to thank for that. The DJ and Insecure creator curated the inaugural theme music on Rae's music platform Raedio.

"A carefully curated playlist by the good folks at Raedio for the Inauguration of the 46th president & vice president of the United States," the official SoundCloud reads. "As this wonderous transition of power ensues, we strongly hold the joy of these select songs to be self-evident."

Joe Biden will be sworn in as President of the United States on Wednesday, January 20. Until then, you can listen to the full "Biden + Harris 2021 Inauguration Playlist" below.


What To Read Next