The Internet


The LA-based band The Internet has been on a stellar trajectory since forming in 2011. Their distinct, critically acclaimed sound is a blend of R&B, hip-hop, funk and jazz laced with electronic elements pushing the envelope of the neo-soul movement.

The five-piece band was initiated by former Odd Future members Syd tha Kyd (now just Syd) and Matt Martians producing together, Syd laying down the vocals with Martians on keys. The super collective also contains production-prodigy and guitarist Steve Lacy, bassist Patrick Paige II, and percussionist/mixer Christopher Smith.

They released their first album Purple Naked Ladies in 2011 on Odd Future Records via Sony, but it was with their second long play Feel Good in 2013 that created a real buzz among media outlets and fans, reaching a wider audience. Then in 2015 the band came into their own delivering their smash-hit album Ego Death (featuring Janelle Monáe, Tyler the Creator, and Kaytranada), hailed by critics all round as the best album of the year, which also landed them a Grammy nomination for Best Urban Contemporary Album to boot.

On the back of this – and a bit unexpectedly – the band members went off to pursue their individual careers, and excelled in doing so. Between 2017 and 2018 Syd’s Fin album, Matt Martians’ The Drum Chord Theory, Patrick Paige II’s Letters of Irrelevance, Steve Lacy’s Demo and Christopher A. Smith’s Loud – as a part of the duo C&T – saw the light of day.

It was a move which had The Internet fans and media alike scratching their heads with an omnipresent pressing question “is this the end of The Internet?”

Then in 2018, after a three-year hiatus since the release of lauded Ego Death, the band announced their fourth album Hive Mind. It dropped in July and was received with widespread critical acclaim as their most accomplished yet, their silky soul-inflected sound matured, refined and undeniably theirs. The same year they also opened for Gorillaz on their The Now Now Tour.


Latest Stories

  • the internet feat hive mind steve lacy syd

    The Internet: How Five Enlightened Egos Formed a ‘Hive Mind’

    • Culture
  • tyler the creator camp flog gnaw 2018 lineup Kids See Ghosts Ms. Lauryn Hill asap rocky

    Kanye West & Kid Cudi to Headline Tyler, the Creator's Camp Flog Gnaw 2018

  • the internet hive mind review

    The Internet Become Seasoned Pros of Soul on 'Hive Mind'

    • Culture
  • best new songs chance the rapper the internet Billie Eilish Quavo Ufo361

    Best Tracks of the Week: Chance the Rapper, The Internet & More

    • Culture
  • syd feat hive mind the internet

    Syd Talks The Internet's 'Hive Mind', Collabs With Tyler, the Creator & More

  • the internet la di da hive mind

    The Internet's New Track "La Di Da" Delivers Chill Summer Vibes

    • Culture
  • the drip syd PFW SS19 the internet valentino

    The Drip | Syd Brings Subtlety to an All-Valentino Look at Paris Fashion Week

    • Style
  • trillectro 2018 lineup 2 chainz Carnage Smokepurpp

    SZA to Headline Trillectro Music Festival With 2 Chainz & RL Grime

  • best tracks gorillaz pusha t ASAP Ferg Charli XCX Mac Miller

    Best Tracks of the Week: Gorillaz, Pusha-T & More

    • Culture
  • Image on Highsnobiety

    The Internet Share New Track "Come Over" From 'Hive Mind'

    • Culture
  • Image on Highsnobiety

    Kaytranada Shares Hazy Remix of The Internet's "Roll (Burbank Funk)"

    • Culture
  • Blurry photo - Original image has been removed

    Listen to This Smooth New Syd Track "Treading Water"

*If you submitted your e-mail address and placed an order, we may use your e-mail address to inform you regularly about similar products without prior explicit consent. You can object to the use of your e-mail address for this purpose at any time without incurring any costs other than the transmission costs according to the basic tariffs. Each newsletter contains an unsubscribe link. Alternatively, you can object to receiving the newsletter at any time by sending an e-mail to info@highsnobiety.com

Web Accessibility Statement

Titel Media GmbH (Highsnobiety), is committed to facilitating and improving the accessibility and usability of its Website, www.highsnobiety.com. Titel Media GmbH strives to ensure that its Website services and content are accessible to persons with disabilities including users of screen reader technology. To accomplish this, Titel Media GmbH tests, remediates and maintains the Website in-line with the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG), which also bring the Website into conformance with the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990.


Please be aware that our efforts to maintain accessibility and usability are ongoing. While we strive to make the Website as accessible as possible some issues can be encountered by different assistive technology as the range of assistive technology is wide and varied.

Contact Us

If, at any time, you have specific questions or concerns about the accessibility of any particular webpage on this Website, please contact us at accessibility@highsnobiety.com, +49 (0)30 235 908 500. If you do encounter an accessibility issue, please be sure to specify the web page and nature of the issue in your email and/or phone call, and we will make all reasonable efforts to make that page or the information contained therein accessible for you.