April showers bring May bangers... That's how the saying goes, right? In any case, the first week of May has brought with it lots of tasty treats for your ears. Mac DeMarco dropped his highly anticipated album This Old Dog, HAIM is holding us over with "Want You Back" before their full length drops this summer, and LCD Soundsystem just released two new tracks. We've got these and more in our fresh blend of tunes of the week, so go ahead and dig right in.

Anne Dereaux --- "Rock Away"

“‘Rock Away’ is the song following ‘Mo(u)rning,’ and it’s about the feelings one experiences after getting over being wronged in a relationship, realizing how much bigger you are than the situation, and loving yourself enough to walk away when they try to come back…because they always do,” LA-based singer Anne Dereaux shares of the inspiration behind the latest single from her upcoming Book of Lolita EP.

HAIM --- "Want You Back"

For serious HAIM fans, “Want You Back” is the return you have been waiting for. It practically oozes the sister-group’s polished pop-rock sheen, evoking bands of old like Fleetwood Mac while building on their distinct sensibilities so effortlessly wrought in their debut Days Are Gone.

J Hus --- "Common Sense"

The most exciting MC coming out of the UK drops his album next week, but waking up this morning to “Common Sense” — the title track off his new album - was such the best way to start the day. What was surprising upon the usual lexis of Hus’s usual toasts to his success was a the sound of a fully-equipped percussion and well-rounded instrumentation — unlike his usual blend of “afro-grime.” If this is anything to go by, Hus’s album will be his most accomplished work yet.

Jlin --- "Challenge (To Be Continued)"

Indiana experimental footwork producer Jlin is set to drop her sophomore album Black Origami May 19, and ahead of its release, she’s unleashed a beast of a single out into the world. Insane drumline-inspired percussion wanders throughout the unpredictable track, with its ecstatic whistles and elephant sounds. To say we’re incredibly stoked for the rest of Black Origami would be an understatement.

Justice --- "Randy" (Boys Noize Remix)

We premiered this choice cut from the upcoming Ed Rec 100 compilation, and it will definitely be on steady rotation for a while. For his reimagining of “Randy,” Boys Noize expertly cuts up and filters the vocals of the original, adding a supremely filthy bassline and extra percussion to render it more than ready for the dancefloor.

LCD Soundsystem --- "american dream"

LCD Soundsystem are back and we are very much here for it. After debuting new tracks at their Brooklyn Steel residency, the band officially released two singles this week. Although “call the police” is incredible, we went with “american dream.” In our humble opinion, the track’s synthy melodrama and poetic lyrics are peak LCD Soundsystem.

Logic --- "Ink Blot" ft. Juicy J

The Maryland MC’s rapping ability is unquestionably strong, but on “Ink Spill,” his singing takes the center stage. On a booming yet breezy beat, he recruits Juicy J to add some more trap-heavy zest for the track, which comes as part of Logic’s strongest album to date.

Mac DeMarco --- "Still Beating"

Mac dropped his long-awaited LP This Old Dog today, and “Still Beating” contains all the right hallmarks of what makes him such a likable and compelling artist. Silky smooth riffs, a stern baseline and some good ‘ol crooning “My heart still beats for you / Even though you don’t feel it” make for one of the best tracks on another solid album from the Canadian.

Slowdive --- "Sugar for the Pill" (Avalon Emerson’s Gilded Escalation)

After a 22-year music-making hiatus, veteran shoegaze band Slowdive are back with a brand new self-titled album. Although we’ll gladly drown in the layers of reverbed guitar on the new full length, we’re particularly intrigued by a remix of “Sugar for the Pill.” Berlin-based DJ and producer Avalon Emerson extends the already-dreamy track to just over nine minutes, adding breakbeats and wavering synths. A gilded escalation indeed.

The Mulholland Free Clinic --- "Dr. Leary"

Think supergroups are only for rock bands? Think again. House music maestros Move D, Juju and Jordash and Jonah Sharpe have come together for a full length as The Mulholland Free Clinic, with all seven tracks improvised on hardware by the fearsome foursome. We’re digging all of them, but “Dr. Leary” is particularly on point with its mysterious, echoing voice towering over a meandering, machine drum workout.

In case you missed it, check out our roundup of April's best tracks and albums right here.

  • Text:Jacob Davey, Bianca Giulione, Stephanie Smith-Strickland
  • Cover Image:HAIM

What To Read Next