jay z naacp presidents award
Getty Images / Shareif Ziyadat

After receiving GLAAD’s Vanguard Award alongside Beyoncé on Thursday night, the NAACP has announced JAY-Z as this year’s President’s Award recipient. The honor is given out by NAACP President and CEO Derrick Johnson in recognition of a special achievement, and distinguished acts of public service. Danny Glover was last year’s winner, and past recipients include the likes of Spike Lee, Lauryn Hill, Ella Fitzgerald, and John Legend.

In a statement, Johnson elaborated on the reasons why JAY-Z, real name Shawn Carter, is receiving the award. “Shawn Carter has been committed to shedding light on the issues that plague the black community including systematic racism and unjust treatment under the law, utilizing his global platform to create everlasting change. There is no better time than now, as we celebrate our 50th year, to honor him with this award.”

This year’s 50th NAACP Image Awards will take place March 30 at the Dolby Theatre in Los Angeles. In addition to JAY-Z accepting the President’s Award, actor Anthony Anderson will host, with appearances from presenters including Lupita Nyong’o and Viola Davis. You can watch the live broadcast via TV One at 9 p.m. EST.

Words by Bianca Giulione
Associate Music Editor

Waiting for Sky Ferreira's new album...