The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) has announced the winners of the 2020 CFDA Fashion Awards.

Led by Kerby Jean-Raymond, Telfar Clemens, and Gabriela Hearst, this year's winners collectively make up the most diverse group of recipients in the awards' 39-year history, the CFDA revealed. Furthermore, each designer recognized atop the four American categories is also a first-time winner.

Jean-Raymond of Pyer Moss has won the American Menswear Designer of the Year, while Hearst is the American Womenswear Designer of the Year. Clemens of Telfar is recognized as the American Accessories Designer of the Year, and Christopher John Rogers is the American Emerging Designer of the Year. Internationally, Kim Jones of Dior is the Men’s Designer of the Year, as Pierpaolo Piccioli of Valentino has secured the honor for the Women’s Designer of the Year.

The results for the 2020 CFDA Fashion Awards arrive after the CFDA received backlash roughly two months ago upon naming its 30 nominees, which were primarily white. Multiple Black designers, including Jean-Raymond and Clemens, have since been recognized as recipients of this year's awards, in addition to Hearst, the lone female winner for 2020 and the first woman to win American Womenswear Designer of the Year since 2015.

The CFDA Fashion Awards nominees and winners are chosen by the CFDA Awards Guild, which is comprised of CFDA members, fashion journalists, stylists, and retail executives.

Your Highsnobiety privacy settings have blocked this YouTube video.
We Recommend
  • Image on Highsnobiety
    Matching 'Fits & All: Flo Is the Y2K Revival We Dreamed Of
    • Style
  • Image on Highsnobiety
    Fashion Week? More Like Pharrell Week
    • Culture
  • Image on Highsnobiety
    From Billie Eilish No. 2 to Prada Paradoxe, These Fragrances Are Defining 2023
    • Beauty
  • Image on Highsnobiety
    The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air is Still a Fashion Icon in 2023
    • Style
  • Image on Highsnobiety
    Sorry, Gen Z: Skinny Jeans Are Officially Back
    • Style
  • Image on Highsnobiety
What To Read Next
  • alpha industries x HS N3B parka
    Alpha Industries, STORY mfg. & More: Browse This Season's Latest Drops
    • Style
  • Can Salehe Bembury turn Crocs into a bonafide sneaker brand?
    Can Crocs Really Become a Sneaker Brand?
    • Sneakers
  • kenzo verdy
    Nigo and VERDY Won't Stop Working Together
    • Style
  • Balenciaga Fall 2024.
    Hey LA, Demna's Balenciaga Is In Town!
    • Style
  • Archival Footage
    The Best Cyber Monday Fashion Deals From Across the Internet
    • Selects
  • District Vision x New Balance FW23.
    EXCLUSIVE: District Vision Made New Balance’s Tastiest Trail Shoes Yet
    • Sneakers
*If you submitted your e-mail address and placed an order, we may use your e-mail address to inform you regularly about similar products without prior explicit consent. You can object to the use of your e-mail address for this purpose at any time without incurring any costs other than the transmission costs according to the basic tariffs. Each newsletter contains an unsubscribe link. Alternatively, you can object to receiving the newsletter at any time by sending an e-mail to info@highsnobiety.com

Web Accessibility Statement

Titelmedia (Highsnobiety), is committed to facilitating and improving the accessibility and usability of its Website, www.highsnobiety.com. Titelmedia strives to ensure that its Website services and content are accessible to persons with disabilities including users of screen reader technology. To accomplish this, Titelmedia has engaged UsableNet Inc, a leading web accessibility consultant to help test, remediate and maintain our Website in-line with the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG), which also bring the Website into conformance with the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990.


Please be aware that our efforts to maintain accessibility and usability are ongoing. While we strive to make the Website as accessible as possible some issues can be encountered by different assistive technology as the range of assistive technology is wide and varied.

Contact Us

If, at any time, you have specific questions or concerns about the accessibility of any particular webpage on this Website, please contact us at accessibility@highsnobiety.com, +49 (0)30 235 908 500. If you do encounter an accessibility issue, please be sure to specify the web page and nature of the issue in your email and/or phone call, and we will make all reasonable efforts to make that page or the information contained therein accessible for you.