The Council of Fashion Designers of America has announced the nominees for this year's CFDA Fashion Awards. The winners from each of the six categories will be announced on CFDA.com and CFDA’s social channels on Monday, September 14, in conjunction with New York Fashion Week.

The 2020 nominees were originally scheduled to be announced during an in-person event on June 8, but the gathering was postponed indefinitely due to the coronavirus pandemic.

“In lieu of the in-person event, we will be prioritizing new and existing programming to support our designer community during the global pandemic – by redirecting efforts towards next generation scholarships and making important changes to bring racial equity to the fashion industry,” said Steven Kolb, President and CEO of the CFDA. “The annual gala serves as our largest fundraiser, and our hope is to continue raising money to support this work through industry contributions."

Two new categories are being introduced with this year's CFDA Fashion Awards: Global Women’s Designer of the Year and Global Men's Designer of the Year. Nominations for each of the six categories in total were submitted by March 13 by the CFDA Fashion Awards Guild, which consists of members of the CFDA, in addition to top fashion retailers, journalists, and stylists. Voting is open from today, July 20, until July 27 at midnight EST.

You can see the nominees for each category below.

American Womenswear Designer of the Year

Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row Brandon Maxwell Gabriela Hearst Marc Jacobs Tom Ford

American Menswear Designer of the Year

Emily Adams Bode for Bode Kerby Jean-Raymond for Pyer Moss Thom Browne Todd Snyder Tom Ford

American Accessories Designer of the Year

Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row Gabriela Hearst Jennifer Fisher for Jennifer Fisher Jewelry Stuart Vevers for Coach Telfar Clemens for Telfar

American Emerging Designer of the Year

Christopher John Rogers Kenneth Nicholson Peter Do Reese Cooper Sarah Staudinger and George Augusto for Staud

Global Women’s Designer of the Year

Daniel Lee for Bottega Veneta Dries Van Noten Miuccia Prada for Prada Pierpaolo Piccioli for Valentino Rick Owens

Global Men’s Designer of the Year

Craig Green Dries Van Noten Jonathan Anderson for Loewe Kim Jones for Dior Virgil Abloh for Louis Vuitton

We Recommend
  • luxury fashion sites
    Here Are the Best Luxury Fashion Sites on the Net
    • Style
  • luxury fashion summer sales
    Here Are the Best Luxury Fashion Summer Sales That Are Still Going
    • Style
  • Image on Highsnobiety
    How HOKA Unintentionally Infiltrated Fashion
    • Sneakers
  • Image on Highsnobiety
    The Best Fashion Documentaries Every Highsnobiety Reader Should Watch
    • Style
  • belgian designers
    14 Designers That Prove Belgium Is a Fashion Hub
    • Style
  • Image on Highsnobiety
What To Read Next
  • moncler adidas collab
    Moncler x adidas Is So Puffing Good
    • Sneakers
  • travis kelce pre game outfits
    Thanks to Vetements, We Know What Travis Kelce Did Last Night
    • Style
  • y/project ss24
    Y/Project SS24 Was Full of Twists, Turns, & Snakes
    • Style
  • offset balenciaga outfit
    In the "Spy Kids" Shades, Offset Is a Man on a Style Mission
    • Style
  • space jam 11 low
    The Space Jam 11s Are Going Low, Apparently
    • Sneakers
  • balenciaga cargo sneaker
    Balenciaga's New Sneaker Carries Some Serious Cargo
    • Sneakers
*If you submitted your e-mail address and placed an order, we may use your e-mail address to inform you regularly about similar products without prior explicit consent. You can object to the use of your e-mail address for this purpose at any time without incurring any costs other than the transmission costs according to the basic tariffs. Each newsletter contains an unsubscribe link. Alternatively, you can object to receiving the newsletter at any time by sending an e-mail to info@highsnobiety.com

Web Accessibility Statement

Titelmedia (Highsnobiety), is committed to facilitating and improving the accessibility and usability of its Website, www.highsnobiety.com. Titelmedia strives to ensure that its Website services and content are accessible to persons with disabilities including users of screen reader technology. To accomplish this, Titelmedia has engaged UsableNet Inc, a leading web accessibility consultant to help test, remediate and maintain our Website in-line with the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG), which also bring the Website into conformance with the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990.


Please be aware that our efforts to maintain accessibility and usability are ongoing. While we strive to make the Website as accessible as possible some issues can be encountered by different assistive technology as the range of assistive technology is wide and varied.

Contact Us

If, at any time, you have specific questions or concerns about the accessibility of any particular webpage on this Website, please contact us at accessibility@highsnobiety.com, +49 (0)30 235 908 500. If you do encounter an accessibility issue, please be sure to specify the web page and nature of the issue in your email and/or phone call, and we will make all reasonable efforts to make that page or the information contained therein accessible for you.