The Council of Fashion Designers of America have announced the nominees for the 2018 CFDA Fashion Awards via Instagram. It appears that the CFDA is at last recognising the impact of streetwear in the industry, with founder of Supreme, James Jebbia, being nominated for Menswear Designer of the Year, along with usual fashion favorites such as Raf Simons for Calvin Klein, who won last lear.

The nominees for Womenswear Designer of the Year Award are Raf Simons for Calvin Klein, Gabriela Hearst, Marc Jacobs, Virgil Abloh for Off-White, and Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen for The Row.

For the Menswear Designer of the Year Award nominees are Raf Simons for Calvin Klein, Virgil Abloh for Off-White, James Jebbia for Supreme, Thom Browne, and Tom Ford.

Lastly for the Accessory Designer of the Year Award, the nominees are Paul Andrew, Stuart Vevers for Coach, Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel for Mansur Gavriel, Irene Neuwirth, and Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row.

For the Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent (which provides financial support for up-and-coming designers) the nominees are Mike Amiri for Amiri, Laura Vassar Brock and Kristopher Brock for Brock Collection, Aurora James for Brother Vellies, Kerby Jean-Raymond for Pyer Moss, and Sander Lak for Sies Marjan.

Issa Rae (from HBO’s Insecure) will be hosting the awards in the Brooklyn Museum on June 4.

In other fashion news YEEZY is being accused of ripping off its camo prints. 

  • Photography: Pete Pabon / Highsnobiety
Words by Max Grobe
Associate Fashion Editor