Frank Ocean


Christopher Edwin Breaux


October 28, 1987


Long Beach, California, USA


Def Jam / Island / Blonded



Frank Ocean is an American rapper and songwriter. Originally finding a musical career songwriting for other artists and as a member of the controversial hip-hop collective Odd Future, Ocean has since carved his own niche in the hip-hop world with a penchant for melodic tracks.


Frank Ocean’s net worth is estimated at $13 million.


Frank Ocean’s birthday is October 28, 1987.


Frank Ocean was born in Long Beach, California. His family moved to New Orleans, Louisiana when he was five years old.


Frank Ocean has to date released only two studio albums and one mixtape.

He has released 18 singles and appeared on countless collabs and tracks from the biggest names in hip-hop including Kanye West, Jay-Z and ASAP Rocky.


Hurricane Katrina strikes the Gulf Coast. One of the deadliest hurricanes in US history, it takes down Ocean’s personal home recording studio and leaves Louisiana in ruins, forcing Ocean to move to Los Angeles.


Ocean moves to Los Angeles to pursue a music career with the promise of discounted studio time. Ocean adopts the pen name Lonny Breaux and begins to write lyrics and melodies for major-label artists like Justin Bieber and John Legend.


Ocean joins hip-hop collective Odd Future thanks to friend Tyler, The Creator.

Producer Tricky Stewart helps Frank Ocean sign to Def Jam Records but grows frustrated with a lack of progress.


Ocean self-releases mixtape Nostalgia, Ultra for free download via Tumblr. It is met with high acclaim.

Ocean appears in the music video for Tyler, The Creator’s “She.” Frank Ocean performs with Odd Future for the first time at Coachella 2011.

Ocean is enlisted to contribute vocals for Jay-Z and Kanye West’s Watch The Throne.

A track titled “Thinkin Bout You” leaks on the internet. It’s revealed the song was a reference track Ocean had written for Bridget Kelly’s debut album. Kelly releases the song under the title “Thinking About Forever.”

Ocean appears on the cover of The Fader.


Ocean announces his debut album’s lead single would be the previously leaked “Thinkin Bout You.” Ocean’s debut Channel ORANGE is released. It debuts at number two and sells 131,000 copies in its first week and earns Ocean six Grammy Award nominations.

Ocean makes headlines when he reveals his first love was a man after publishing an open letter on his Tumblr blog. Originally intended for the liner notes of Channel ORANGE, the letter recounts unrequited feelings he had for another man he cites as his first true love. Members of the hip-hop industry voiced their support.


Ocean announces he has begun work on his second studio album, working with Tyler, The Creator, Pharrell Williams and Danger Mouse.


Ocean hints at a possible second album with an image of a library card labeled Boys Don’t Cry. A seemingly endless live stream appears on website boysdontcry.co. The stream shows Ocean woodworking and playing instrumentals on a loop.

Weeks later, the live stream is accompanied with music and at midnight, a link towards a project called Endless. The visual album would be Ocean’s final release with label Def Jam.

Ocean releases his second studio album Blonde. It debuts at number one in the United States and the UK. The vivdeo for “Nikes” launches on Ocean’s webpage.

Ocean announces pop up shops in LA, New York, Chicago and London to promote Boys Don’t Cry.

After the Pulse nightclub shooting in Orlando, Florida, Ocean publishes an essay expressing his sadness and frustration regarding the event, discussing his first ever experience of biphobia at the hands of his father.


Ocean appears on Calvin Harris’ “Slide” with Migos. Ocean debuts the track on his new radio show, Blonded Radio.

Ocean releases singles, “Chanel,” “Biking,” featuring Jay-Z and Tyler, The Creator, as well as “Lens” and “Power” and remixes from Endless.

All tracks he debuts on Blonded Radio. Ocean publishes a photo essay, “New 17,” in i-D magazine.

Ocean appears in Grand Theft Auto V as himself on an in-game radio station, blonded, with several of his own songs appearing in the in-game soundtrack.


Ocean releases a cover of “Moon River.”

Ocean airs midterm election specials of Blonded Radio. New merchandise was offered to those who could prove they voted in Houston, Atlanta, Miami and Dallas with the shows themselves offering political discussion.

Latest Stories

  • Frank Ocean's Homer designed Tremaine Emory's wedding rings.

    There Are Wedding Rings & Then There Are Frank Ocean Wedding Rings

    • Style
  • Image on Highsnobiety

    The Best Album Covers Of All Time Every Highsnobiety Reader Should Know

    • Culture
  • Image on Highsnobiety

    Frank Ocean's Homer Prada Jackets Are Selling For $7,000 USD

    • Style
  • Image on Highsnobiety

    Frank Ocean Is Hosting a Halloween PrEP+ Tonight: Here’s How You Can RSVP

    • Culture
  • Image on Highsnobiety

    Frank Ocean's New Project Is Here — It Ain't Music

    • Culture
  • Image on Highsnobiety

    The Most Memorable Met Gala Looks of All Time

    • Style
  • Image on Highsnobiety

    Frank Ocean's Messy Coachella 2023 Set Was Also His Last

    • Culture
  • Image on Highsnobiety

    Frank Ocean at Coachella Was a Literal "Had to Be There" Moment

    • Culture
  • frank ocean performing on stage

    Are Frank Ocean & BMW Teasing a 'Nostalgia Ultra' Re-Release?

    • Culture
  • Image on Highsnobiety

    Frank Ocean's Famed Arc'teryx Beanie Has Evolved

    • Style
  • Image on Highsnobiety

    Frank Ocean Dropped...New Merch, That Is

    • Style
  • Image on Highsnobiety

    Is Frank Ocean Actually Retiring? Twitter Thinks So

    • Culture
*If you submitted your e-mail address and placed an order, we may use your e-mail address to inform you regularly about similar products without prior explicit consent. You can object to the use of your e-mail address for this purpose at any time without incurring any costs other than the transmission costs according to the basic tariffs. Each newsletter contains an unsubscribe link. Alternatively, you can object to receiving the newsletter at any time by sending an e-mail to info@highsnobiety.com

Web Accessibility Statement

Titelmedia (Highsnobiety), is committed to facilitating and improving the accessibility and usability of its Website, www.highsnobiety.com. Titelmedia strives to ensure that its Website services and content are accessible to persons with disabilities including users of screen reader technology. To accomplish this, Titelmedia has engaged UsableNet Inc, a leading web accessibility consultant to help test, remediate and maintain our Website in-line with the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG), which also bring the Website into conformance with the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990.


Please be aware that our efforts to maintain accessibility and usability are ongoing. While we strive to make the Website as accessible as possible some issues can be encountered by different assistive technology as the range of assistive technology is wide and varied.

Contact Us

If, at any time, you have specific questions or concerns about the accessibility of any particular webpage on this Website, please contact us at accessibility@highsnobiety.com, +49 (0)30 235 908 500. If you do encounter an accessibility issue, please be sure to specify the web page and nature of the issue in your email and/or phone call, and we will make all reasonable efforts to make that page or the information contained therein accessible for you.