frank lloyd wright buildings unesco world heritage sites Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum
Getty Images / STAN HONDA

This Sunday, eight buildings by American architect Frank Lloyd Wright were named World Heritage Sites by UNESCO. The buildings were nominated for inclusion on the UNESCO World Heritage List under the title: “The 20th-Century Architecture of Frank Lloyd Wright,” last year. The list consists of “the most significant cultural and natural sites on the planet [with] outstanding universal value.”

This is the first time American architecture has been included on the list in its history. Significantly, it puts Wright’s buildings on par with landmarks including Machu Picchu, the Pyramids of Giza and the Statue of Liberty.

The new additions to the prestigious list were announced in Baku, Azerbaijan at UNESCO’s annual conference yesterday. Wright’s Guggenheim building, Fallingwater in Pennsylvania, and the Hollyhock House in Los Angeles are among the eight buildings that now enjoy World Heritage Site status.

View this post on Instagram

Museum news—the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum has been officially inscribed on the @UNESCO World Heritage List as part of “The 20th-Century Architecture of Frank Lloyd Wright,” which includes 8 major works spanning 50 years of Wright’s career! The designation was announced at the World Heritage Committee meeting on July 7 in Baku, Azerbaijan, and it’s an honor to receive this internationally esteemed designation that recognizes the significance of Frank Lloyd Wright’s contribution to cultural heritage. #WrightWorldHeritage There are more than 1,000 World Heritage sites around the world, and the group of Wright sites is now among only 24 sites in the U.S. The collection represents the first modern architecture designation in the country on the prestigious list. In addition to the Guggenheim Museum, the sites in the group inscription include Unity Temple (constructed 1906-1909, Oak Park, Illinois), the Frederick C. Robie House (constructed 1910, Chicago, Illinois), Taliesin (@taliesinwi) (begun 1911, Spring Green, Wisconsin), @HollyhockHouse, (constructed 1918-1921, Los Angeles, California), @Fallingwater (constructed 1936-1939, Mill Run, Pennsylvania), the Herbert and Katherine Jacobs House, (constructed 1936-1937, Madison, Wisconsin), and @WrightTaliesin (begun 1938, Scottsdale, Arizona). As we celebrate 60 years as an architectural icon, our Wright-designed masterpiece continues to serve as a beacon and inspiration for visitors from around the world. __ #Guggenheim #Guggenheim60 #FrankLloydWright #WorldHeritageList #WorldHeritageCommittee

A post shared by Guggenheim Museum (@guggenheim) on

On this episode of The Dropcast, we are joined by by Jabari “Jacuzzi” Khaled, founder of Basketball Skateboards and under-the-radar creative who’s worked with your favorite designer’s favorite designers.

Weekend Staff Writer

Isabelle is an Australian writer based in Berlin.