The Council of Fashion Designers of America (better known as the CFDA) has just announced the nominees for its annual awards ceremony, set to take place in June. The CFDA Awards are basically the fashion industry’s Oscars and they honor the best and brightest in American and international fashion, including designers spanning womenswear, menswear, and accessories.

More recently, the CFDA has begun to recognize creativity beyond fashion design too, celebrating those who have excelled in journalism, creative vision, and obviously, personal style.

See the list of this year’s nominees below. Unsurprisingly, Raf Simons gets a warm welcome to New York with two nominations, Virgil Abloh gets a nod for his acclaimed OFF-WHITE label, Rick Owens is set to be honored with a lifetime achievement award, and Demna Gvasalia receives the international award.

Womenswear Designer of the Year

Joseph Altuzarra, Altuzarra Raf Simons, Calvin Klein Marc Jacobs Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez, Proenza Schouler Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen, The Row

Menswear Designer of the Year

Raf Simons, Calvin Klein Robert Geller Thom Browne Tim Coppens Todd Snyder

Accessories Designer of the Year

Stuart Vevers, Coach Irene Neuwirth Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel, Mansur Gavriel Paul Andrew Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen, The Row Laura Vassar Brock and Kristopher Brock, Brock Collection Gabriela Hearst Laura Kim and Fernando Garcia, Monse Virgil Abloh, Off-White Sander Lak, Sies Marjan

Swarovski Award for Positive Change

Kenneth Cole

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award

Rick Owens

Founder’s Award

Pat McGrath

International Award

Demna Gvasalia, Vetements and Balenciaga

Board of Directors’ Tribute

Cecile Richards, Gloria Steinem, and Janelle Monáe

Fashion Icon Award

Franca Sozzani For more fashion insight, check out Spring/Summer 2017's most hyped womenswear accessories.

What To Read Next