Life has a habit of passing you by in the blink of an eye. Before we knew it, it'd been six years since Drake and Future shook the walls of the world with What A Time To Be Alive.

Believe it or not (we'd prefer not to), the third year of the '20s is almost upon us. In a decade that's thus far been dominated by the COVID-19 pandemic and a slow transition into the aftermath, a generation that lived out its youths in the 2010s has been locked into both their homes and a state of perma-nostalgia for better days.

The 2010s were a melting-pot for controversies, a changing of the guard, and a slew of unforgettable albums in music: Kanye West's My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, Frank Ocean's Channel Orange, Beyonce's Lemonade, Kendrick Lamar's To Pimp A Butterfly, and Tyler's Flower Boy.

Those are just a few albums we have the 2010s to thank for, albums popularly regarded as the peak of their creators' careers.

At the midpoint of the decade, following Thank Me Later, Take Care, and Nothing Was The Same, and If You're Reading This It's Too Late, Drake shifted his sonic output. This milestone in his career, a moment that would shift the landscape of music for years to come, was the release of What A Time To Be Alive, a collaboration with Future.

Your Highsnobiety privacy settings have blocked this YouTube video.

Up until this point, many diehard hip-hop fans were still struggling with the transition into the "Drake Era;" the rapper's blend of R&B vocals and introspective lyrics with classic hip-hop samples and braggadocious claims still hadn't quite won them over.

Yes, by this point, a vocal majority had declared Take Care a classic and heavily debated the status of Nothing Was The Same, but Drake's "The Boy" persona hadn't been cemented in the mainstream – yet.

Whether or not Drake and Future knew it, What A Time To Be Alive was certainly a fitting title.

In 2015, remember, there was Balmain x H&M, the debut of YEEZY Season 1 & 2 at New York Fashion Week, Caitlyn Jenner for Vanity Fair, and the start of J.J. Abrams' Star Wars sequel trilogy.

Amidst a sea change in fashion and Hollywood, Drake and Future were crafting an aural palette that has become all-encompassing by 2021.

The album saw Champagne Papi undergo a chameleon-like transformation as he adopted and adapted the flows and lyrical content of his Atlantan counterpart, Future. Guided by executive producer Metro Boomin, the pair laid down bangers like "Big Rings," "Digital Dash," and the unforgettable "Jumpman."

Your Highsnobiety privacy settings have blocked this YouTube video.

These tracks brought new energy to Drake's catalog and new attention to Future. Propped up by the pair's previous collaborative track, "Where Ya At," the album was an instant success – and the duo's claims that they completed the full tracklist in 6 days would become the precursor for the "microwave era" of music.

Over the past six years, the artist's featuring on each other's albums have become the norm, and you'd be hard-pressed to find a hip-hop album that doesn't feature a Metro Boomin beat. While the beat selection on collaborative tracks isn't as energized now as it was in 2015, not-so-subtle flexes and lustful woes have reached peak levels – complete with well-memed videos.

Despite its age, What A Time To Be Alive still feels fresh. Even if you're a fan of the mixtape, it birthed the contemporary versions of Drake and Future, which certainly stands for something.

And without What A Time To Be Alive, tracks like "Life is Good" and Certified Lover Boy's "Way 2 Sexy," would probably have never seen the light of day – for better or worse.

We Recommend
  • Image on Highsnobiety
    For All The Dogs: Drake's Net Worth Has His Peers in Their Feelings
    • Culture
  • 25 best drake songs VIEWS if youre reading this its too late more life
    For All the Dogs: The 31 Best Drake Songs On Any Given Day
    • Culture
  • Image on Highsnobiety
    Drake & NOCTA Are Reviving the 1999 Nike Zoom Drive
    • Sneakers
  • Image on Highsnobiety
    The Next Generation of Entertainers Is Fighting for Its Future
    • Culture
  • kenzo sneaker
    Kenzo's New Sneakers Promise a Bright Future
    • Sneakers
  • Image on Highsnobiety
What To Read Next
  • jae tips saucony grid shadow 2 collab
    Jae Tips' New Saucony Collab Is Twice as Nice
    • Sneakers
  • Image on Highsnobiety
    HOKA's Best Sneakers Ain't Just for Runners Anymore
    • Sneakers
  • A model poses with a large white balloon with a green Marithe + Francois Girbaud logo
    Is the World Ready for the Return of Marithé + François Girbaud?
    • Style
  • supreme box logo fall winter 2023
    Be Merry: Santa Supreme Is Dropping Box Logo Hoodies & Tees
    • Style
  • Fendi & BLESS' collaborative Peekaboo bag & fur-trimmed spray bottles
    EXCLUSIVE: Why Luxury Giant Fendi Blessed Indie Auteur BLESS
    • Style
  • Asap Rocky is seen wearing Bottega Veneta
    A$AP Rocky Is the Face of Bottega Veneta's Subliminal Marketing Scheme
    • Style
*If you submitted your e-mail address and placed an order, we may use your e-mail address to inform you regularly about similar products without prior explicit consent. You can object to the use of your e-mail address for this purpose at any time without incurring any costs other than the transmission costs according to the basic tariffs. Each newsletter contains an unsubscribe link. Alternatively, you can object to receiving the newsletter at any time by sending an e-mail to info@highsnobiety.com

Web Accessibility Statement

Titelmedia (Highsnobiety), is committed to facilitating and improving the accessibility and usability of its Website, www.highsnobiety.com. Titelmedia strives to ensure that its Website services and content are accessible to persons with disabilities including users of screen reader technology. To accomplish this, Titelmedia has engaged UsableNet Inc, a leading web accessibility consultant to help test, remediate and maintain our Website in-line with the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG), which also bring the Website into conformance with the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990.


Please be aware that our efforts to maintain accessibility and usability are ongoing. While we strive to make the Website as accessible as possible some issues can be encountered by different assistive technology as the range of assistive technology is wide and varied.

Contact Us

If, at any time, you have specific questions or concerns about the accessibility of any particular webpage on this Website, please contact us at accessibility@highsnobiety.com, +49 (0)30 235 908 500. If you do encounter an accessibility issue, please be sure to specify the web page and nature of the issue in your email and/or phone call, and we will make all reasonable efforts to make that page or the information contained therein accessible for you.