Remember when Kanye tweeted the proposed roster for his YEEZY SOUND label? Believe it or not, it's been over a year since then and his musical output hasn't been this high in years. There's his own new recordever delayed — production for Lil Nas X and Tyler, the Creator and, amidst all that, the first full-length LP on that new label, which has been renamed YZY SND because why not.

Unlike those other high-profile works, though, YZY SND's debut offering is relatively low-key. Dreams Still Inspire is the return of cult hip-hop duo Abstract Mindstate, who haven't released any music since the mid-2000s and are best remembered for working with Kanye just as his career was taking off; ironically, those joint efforts was some of the group's final releases.

Daphne "E.P Da Hellcat" Mitchell and Greg "Olskool Ice-Gre" Lewis founded Abstract Mindstate in Mississippi in the late '90s, eventually returning to their native Chicago. There, the duo became part of the local scene, which included everyone from Lupe Fiasco to Twista to Chilldrin of da Ghetto. Kanye began producing for Abstract Mindstate while they worked on their debut (and only) LP, We Paid Let Us In!

He later rapped on Abstract Mindstate's "Welcome 2 Chicago" single and contributed additional beats to their (never released) follow-up, Still Paying. Lewis later moved from the artist to A&R side of the biz, helping Kanye get GOOD Music off the ground.

The story behind Abstract Mindstate's Dreams Still Inspire is classic chaotic Kanye. In 2018, Yeezy phoned up Lewis for help during his marathon of album releases — that's the wild summer when Kanye oversaw Pusha T's Daytona, Teyana Taylor's K.T.S.E., Kids See Ghosts' debut LP, AND his own ye — and then pushed for Lewis to reunite Abstract Mindstate for YZY SND.

Your Highsnobiety privacy settings have blocked this YouTube video.

Mitchell — now a certified behavioral health professional — was flown out to Calabasas and the three-year on-and-off recording sessions began. 25 songs have been whittled down to 14 (including introduction and skits), all produced by Kanye and issued as part of a package that YZY SND is describing as "Adult Contemporary Hip Hop."

This is actually the first time that Kanye has produced all of the songs on an album that wasn't his own since Common's 2005 LP, Be. Fun fact: he even did all the crate-digging for Dreams Still Inspire's samples. 'Ye also appears on the album alongside Luka Sabbat, Jonquia Rose, comedian Deon Cole, and fellow YZY SND member Tony Williams.

Your Highsnobiety privacy settings have blocked this Instagram post.

Check out the full tracklist below and stream the debut single, "A Wise Tale," via your preferred streaming service. Dreams Still Inspire debuts today, August 6, with an accompanying documentary to follow.

Dreams Still Inspire

  1. Salutations (Intro) ft. Jonquia Rose

  2. I Feel Good

  3. A Wise Tale

  4. Yeezy Sound (Skit) ft. Luka Sabbat

  5. Elevation

  6. Move Yo Body ft. Tony Williams

  7. Social Media

  8. Lambo Truck Podcast (Skit) ft. Luka Sabbat

  9. Expository Mode

  10. My Reality

  11. Sound Off The Alarm

  12. Voice Mail (interlude) ft. Deon Cole

  13. The Brenda Song ft. Kanye West

  14. I Know You

Your Highsnobiety privacy settings have blocked this Instagram post.
We Recommend
  • Image on Highsnobiety
    Is Kanye West Still One of Hip Hop's Wealthiest Moguls in 2023?
    • Culture
  • Image on Highsnobiety
    Somehow, Kanye Found Someone Worse to Be YEEZY CEO
    • Culture
  • Image on Highsnobiety
    Shoeless Kanye West Is Dressing Like an Elderly Tourist
    • Style
  • Image on Highsnobiety
    A Timeline of Kanye's "Eyesore" $6m Calabasas House Falling Apart
    • Culture
  • Image on Highsnobiety
    Unpacking Yet *Another* Kanye & Bianca Outfit
    • Style
  • Image on Highsnobiety
What To Read Next
  • Nike is updating its iconic Tech Fleece for 2023.
    Nike's Revamped the Uniform of the Roadman (& Haaland)
    • Style
  • kaws sky high farm nike air force 1
    Sky High Farm & KAWS' Air Force 1s Stand on Simple Business
    • Sneakers
  • nocta nike fleece 8000 peaks collection
    NOCTA x Nike's New Fleece Is Actually Season-Appropriate
    • Style
  • anthony edwards adidas ae 1 sneaker
    Anthony Edwards' adidas Basketball Shoe Is Coming in Hot, Believe That
    • Sneakers
  • Justin Bieber Wearing a Hoodie With One Sleeve Dangling
    Can Someone Check On Justin Bieber?
    • Style
  • Plisse Milk Frother
    Plissé Homeware to Make the Season Bright
    • Design
*If you submitted your e-mail address and placed an order, we may use your e-mail address to inform you regularly about similar products without prior explicit consent. You can object to the use of your e-mail address for this purpose at any time without incurring any costs other than the transmission costs according to the basic tariffs. Each newsletter contains an unsubscribe link. Alternatively, you can object to receiving the newsletter at any time by sending an e-mail to info@highsnobiety.com

Web Accessibility Statement

Titelmedia (Highsnobiety), is committed to facilitating and improving the accessibility and usability of its Website, www.highsnobiety.com. Titelmedia strives to ensure that its Website services and content are accessible to persons with disabilities including users of screen reader technology. To accomplish this, Titelmedia has engaged UsableNet Inc, a leading web accessibility consultant to help test, remediate and maintain our Website in-line with the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG), which also bring the Website into conformance with the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990.


Please be aware that our efforts to maintain accessibility and usability are ongoing. While we strive to make the Website as accessible as possible some issues can be encountered by different assistive technology as the range of assistive technology is wide and varied.

Contact Us

If, at any time, you have specific questions or concerns about the accessibility of any particular webpage on this Website, please contact us at accessibility@highsnobiety.com, +49 (0)30 235 908 500. If you do encounter an accessibility issue, please be sure to specify the web page and nature of the issue in your email and/or phone call, and we will make all reasonable efforts to make that page or the information contained therein accessible for you.